Our Team

Leadership

Inge Petersen
Overall Hub Programme Director and Principal Director

University of KwaZulu-Natal and Centre for Rural Health 
peterseni@ukzn.ac.za

Arvin Bhana
Multiple Principal Director

 

Medical Research Council, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Centre for Rural Health
arvin.bhana@gmail.com

Deepa Rao
Multiple Principal Director and   
Capacity Building Lead/Mentor

University of Washington
deeparao@uw.edu

South Africa

Programme Management

Bavashni Govender 
Finance Manager

University of KwaZulu-Natal
GovenderB@ukzn.ac.za

Tasneem Kathree
Project Director 

University of KwaZulu-Natal, Centre for Rural Health
Kathree@ukzn.ac.za

Team Members

Lara Fairall
Co-investigator

University of Cape Town, Knowledge Translation Unit
lara.fairall@uct.ac.za

Max Bachmann
Co-Investigator; Capacity Building Mentor

University of East Anglia, Norwich Medical School
m.bachmann@uea.ac.uk

Merridy Grant
Community Component Lead 

University of KwaZulu-Natal, Centre for Rural Health
Grantm1@ukzn.ac.za

André J van Rensburg
Capacity Building Coordinator

University of KwaZulu-Natal, Centre for Rural Health
jvrensburgandre@gmail.com / jansevanrensburga@ukzn.ac.za

Rethabile Kgadikane
Field Counselling Supervisor

University of KwaZulu-Natal
rkgadikane@gmail.com

Ellen Ntswe
Quality Improvement Consultant

University of KwaZulu-Natal
Ntswe@ukzn.ac.za

Zamasomi Prudence Busisi Luvuno
Quality Improvement Consultant

University of KwaZulu-Natal
LuvunoZ@ukzn.ac.za

Sanah Bucibo
Quality Improvement Mentor

University of KwaZulu-Natal
BuciboS@ukzn.ac.za

Londiwe Mthethwa
Data Manager

University of KwaZulu-Natal
Mthethwal@ukzn.ac.za

Sithabisile Gugulethu Gigaba
Technical Advisor for MhINT scale up

University of KwaZulu-Natal
GigabaS@ukzn.ac.za

Onê Selohilwe
Psychology Consultant

University of KwaZulu-Natal
selohilweone@gmail.com

Mozambique

Team Members

Brad Wagenaar
Country Lead, Co-investigator, Capacity Building Mentor

Health Alliance International (HAI), University of Washington; Department of Global Health
wagenaarb@gmail.com

Alberto Muanido
Mozambique Project Coordinator, Capacity Building Mentor

 

Health Alliance International (HAI)
alberto.muanido@
healthallianceinternational.org

João Luis Manuel
Co-investigator, Capacity Building Mentor

Operations Research Center in Beira (CIOB), a Division of the Mozambique Ministry of Health (MISAU)
joluma28@yahoo.com.br

Vasco Cumbe
Co-investigator, Capacity Building Mentor

Sofala Provincial Health Department
vcumbe@gmail.com

Nélia Manaca
Capacity Building Mentor

Health Alliance International (HAI)
nelia.manaca@healthallianceinternational.org

Tanzania

Team Members

Sylvia Kaaya
Country Lead, Co-investigator, Capacity Building Mentor

Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS)
skaaya@gmail.com

Fileuka Ngakongwa
Co-investigator, Capacity Building Mentor

Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS)
fillejully@gmail.com

Joy Baumgartner
Capacity Building Mentor, Co-investigator

Duke Global Health Institute
joy.baumgartner@duke.edu

USA

Team Members

Brad Wagenaar
Mozambique Country Lead, Co-Investigator; Capacity Building Mentor

 

University of Washington; Department of Global Health, Health Alliance International (HAI)
kempc@uw.edu

Kenneth Sher
Co-Investigator; Capacity Building Mentor

University of Washington; Department of Global Health, Health Alliance International (HAI)
kempc@uw.edu

Ruanne Barnabas
Co-investigator

University of Washington; Department of Global Health
rbarnaba@uw.edu

Christopher Kemp
Co-investigator

University of Washington
kempc@uw.edu